Thursday, November 29, 2012

2012 in Review

February 10, 2012
7450 Beverly Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90036 
(323) 930-9744

Really yummy.  Not too saucy, as you can see.  Nice crispy tortilla (not traditional).

February 11, 2012
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
101 Wilshire Blvd

Santa Monica, CA 90401
(310) 319-3111

March 10, 2012
157 E Houston St (between East Houston St & 2nd Ave)
New York, NY 10002
(212) 473-9900

Ami was in town and we came here after a failed attempt at Teany (it was closed). This dish is a repeat - it looks the same as the previous Macando post, so the restaurant is pretty consistent.

May 6, 2012
Five Points
31 Great Jones St (between Lafayette St & Bowery)
New York, NY 10012 
(212) 253-5700 
This is the best "Huevos Rancheros" that's baked in a skillet type of dish vs. served on a plate. I would definitely order this again!

May 13, 2012
77 St. Marks Pl (between 2nd Ave & 1st Ave)
New York, NY 10003
(212) 777-2537

I'm pretty certain this is at La Palapa...

May 20, 2012
2262 Larimer St
Denver, CO 80205
(303) 297-0700

This place was very popular and packed even early in the morning (I think we went around 8 or 9am).  The order took a long time and they did not cook the eggs over medium, like I asked.  She tried to tell me that this was over medium, but I don't think so... In the end they didn't charge for this dish!  Taste-wise, It wasn't amazing though.  Stick to the red velvet pancakes here instead.

July 14, 2012
Clinton Street Bakery
4 Clinton St (between Avenue B & Houston St)
New York, NY 10002
(646) 602-6263

This was so disappointing because I used to think Clinton St. had the best huevos rancheors in NYC after a visit there a few years ago.  They must have changed cooks/recipes because it's not nearly as good anymore.  The salsa was one of the best parts - where is the salsa here?  After waiting 2 hours (the norm, so nbd), I really wanted some amazing huevos!  Just stick to the pancakes and come during the week for breakfast.

August 12, 2012
Schillers Liquor Bar
131 Rivington St (between Norfolk St & Suffolk St)
New York, NY 10002
(212) 260-4555

Yum! I remember it being good but whenever they're cooked like this, I think of it more like a scramble and not huevos rancheros.

September 23, 2012
173 Ludlow St  (between Houston St & Stanton St)
New York, NY 10002
(212) 353-3353

I like the crispy tortilla, but it's tiny.  Got a couple drinks and a coffee and sat here a while.  Nothing stood out in particular but it's not a bad spot.  

October 14, 2012
Cafe Java
11900 Metric Blvd, Ste K
Austin, TX 78758
(512) 339-7677

After being away for a while, you forget how in places other than NYC, food is cheaper & portions are bigger!  The weekend in Austin was like an ongoing tex-mex fest.  This dish was really tasty, even the hash browns and bacon.  The ranchero sauce is more authentic than a lot of places in NYC.  Definitely recommend Cafe Java!

November 22, 2012
Ariel's Mom's Soup (Sopa de Lima)

I went to my friend's parent's house for Thanksgiving and her mom cooked up a storm - 3 different soups and 4 delicious desserts.  The turkey was with mole sauce.  Sides included potato, sweet potato, creamed spinach, cranberry sauce, & homemade bread.  Amazing! 

This is not a tortilla soup, but it's very similar - the broth is clearer & it tastes lighter.  I liked this one since it was spicy and not too salty.  Also, the chicken was cooked just the right amount and there were no fatty pieces of meat. Yum!

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

More reviews!

September 4, 2011
12 E 22nd St (between Park and Broadway)
New York, NY 10010(212) 228-7557

Big serving sizes, great to go for brunch because it's usually not crowded and you can get a table without waiting.  Would have liked more flavorful beans but the huevos rancheros was good - would order it again.

September 25, 2011
157 E Houston St (between East Houston St & 2nd Ave)
New York, NY 10002
(212) 473-9900

One picture is of the huevos rancheros with the eggs scrambled, and the second picture shows the eggs cooked traditionally.  This place has a great all-you-can-drink brunch deal, but this particular dish wasn't too memorable.  I haven't been a fan of huevos rancheros cooked in a skillet - haven't found a good one yet, so if you know of any, please leave a comment & let me know!

October 9, 2011
La Calle Doce
1925 Skillman St
Dallas, TX 75206
(214) 824-9900
I really should write these entries right after eating at the place so I don't forget.

November 5, 2011
12 E 22nd St (between Park and Broadway)
New York, NY 10010(212) 228-7557

Almond again.  This isn't huevos ranchros but I took a picture anyway.

November 6, 2011
Cowgirl Seahorse

259 Front St (between Peck Slip & Dover St)
New York, NY 10038
(212) 608-7873
Yum - warm and filling on a cold night. Not bad but this place was so out of the way, I doubt I'll be back any time soon.

Tuesday, March 13, 2012

Catching up

I’m so behind on these reviews, but here are all the places I’ve had huevos rancheros over the past few years (1 tortilla soup place):
July 1, 2010
Mexican Radio
19 Cleveland Pl (between Kenmare St & Spring St)
New York, NY 10012 
(212) 343-0140
Food was decent but we sat downstairs and there was a weird, hard-to-ignore smell.

October 16, 2010
156 10th Ave (between 19th St & 20th St)
New York, NY 10011

 (212) 924-4440
Someone I know raved about the huevos rancheros here, however, he should have warned me that that are NOT huevos rancheros. They are more like baked eggs and have pickled onions. The spiciness was good. Had high expectations that were not met – not even close. The main memory I have of these is that they were definitely not the best – mediocre to bad.

October 30, 2010
17 W 20th St (between 5th Ave & Avenue Of The Americas)
New York, NY 10011
(646) 230-7000 
Not as saucy, but all the components were flavorful. Basic & good.

November 7, 2010
1563 2nd Ave (between 81st St & 82nd St)
New York, NY 10028
(212) 879-1999
We came here before watching the marathon (I assume because it was convenient, not because of the food). Not really sure why people like Blockheads… would never recommend the food.

November 21, 2010
Cafe Cortadito
210 E 3rd St (between Avenue B & Avenue C)
New York, NY 10009
(212) 614-3080
I hardly remember coming to this place, which means it wasn’t good enough to be memorable. 

January 29, 2011
Wicked Spoon Buffet
The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas
3708 Las Vegas Blvd S
Las Vegas, NV 89109
(702) 698-7000
This buffet as a whole was pretty amazing! And the huevos rancheros were really good! Over a year ago and I still remember them well.

April 2011
Bogota Latin Bistro
141 5th Ave (between Lincoln Pl & St. John's Pl)
Brooklyn, NY 11217
(718) 230-3805
I haven’t been to Brooklyn since this! That’s not meant to imply that I didn’t like the food. The soup was way too salty (couldn’t even finish it) and the rest of the food I ate was much better (chips, main course).